(714) 418-5797 (213) 297-4470 mail@mazareilaw.com

California’s 2019 Hourly Rate Laws

Irvine, Orange County Employment Attorneys

– California continues to be ahead of the Federal laws when it comes to minimum hourly wages.   The current Federal minimum wage is $7.25.  Effective January 1, 2019, California’s minimum hourly rate was increased to $11 for companies with 25 employees or less. The base hourly wage increased to $12 for companies with 26 or more employees.

In addition to the statewide minimum wage, several cities and counties have adopted their own minimum wage requirements.  Below are some examples of base hourly wage in different California territories:

  • Belmont ($13.50)
  • Berkeley ($15)
  • Cupertino ($15)
  • El Cerrito ($15)
  • Los Altos ($15)
  • Los Angeles ($13.25 for 26 employees or more, $12 for 25 or fewer)
  • Malibu ($13.25)
  • Milpitas ($13.50)
  • Mountain View ($15.65)
  • Oakland ($13.80)
  • Palo Alto ($15)
  • Pasadena ($13.25 for 26 employees or more, $12 for 25 or fewer)
  • Redwood City ($13.50)
  • Richmond ($15)
  • San Diego ($12)
  • San Francisco ($15)
  • San Jose ($15)
  • San Leandro ($13)
  • San Mateo ($15)
  • Santa Clara ($15)
  • Santa Monica ($13.25 for 26 employees or more, $12 for 25 or fewer)
  • Sunnyvale ($15.65)

Like the statewide minimum wage, the rates may differ for small employers.  Under California law, employers must comply with the highest applicable minimum wage.   Failing to comply with the wage laws, can have dire effects for employers.  California employers who fail to pay their employees proper wages can be subject of numerous penalties under California Labor Code.   For many years, Mazarei Law Group, Inc. has been helping California employers with the companies’ employment and wage plans so as to avoid litigation and paying hefty penalties.   In the event of a question, please contact Mazarei Law Group, Inc. and request a free consult.

Scroll to Top